Audio/ Visual




Steve Ford – 1971.  (Video) Ford set the State Record when he pole vaulted 15’3″.  In the proceeding 18 years, only three athletes surpassed the mark and Ford’s jump goes down as the 4th best in state history.


Calls by Mike Jay, the voice of the Drake Relays

James Harrington – 2011.  Harrington defended his 200 meter crown on his way to four golds over the weekend.  His time of 21.16 is the fastest automatic timed 200 in state history.

4×400 – 2016. Cedar Falls 4×400 team of Nathan Hoy, Gaven O’Hair, Ethan Smith and Hunter Lavallee win CF’s 3rd consecutive 4×400 state championship.  Their time of 3:16.85 broke the school record and put them 2nd in state history.


Sam Schillinger – 2017.  Last 200 meters of Schillinger’s 3200 meter victory at the 2017 Drake Relays.  Schillinger’s run ranks 6th all-time in Iowa history.  

4×400 – 2017.  Cedar Falls relay team of Seb Gearhart, Matt Timmer, Quinlan O’Hair and Nathan Hoy bring home the fourth consecutive 4×400 title.